Seth Barrett

Age: 22
Height: 5'8
Home: The Forest of Dean, UK
Discipline: Downhill and Enduro
Sponsors: Troy Lee Designs UK, Burgtec, crankbrothers UK, Cush Core, Fabric, Mudhugger, WyeMTB and Pedalabikeaway
Ride: Size Medium Druid SLX and size Medium Dreadnought Custom
Social: @seth_j_barrett

Short bio about what you do for a living:
Been working as a Mountain bike Mechanic last few years but am now starting as a professional MTB skills coach.
What kind of riding do you typically do? 
Anything fun! I’d class myself as a Downhill racer solely but to be honest, just like going down a hill as fast as possible on any bike.
What does your dream trail look like? 
Something wild! If it’s got turns, some gaps and some sketchy sections I’d be all over that. Plus steeper the better too!
What kind of music do you listen to? 
Anything at the moment. Although DnB seems to have a recurring theme at the moment.
What does a typical day look like for you? 
Probably start the day with an early morning moaning session before a decent cup of coffee. Then what with the pandemic at the moment my day could be either fixing a bike, coaching someone how to improve on a bike, or if there’s enough time, riding my own bike! If my day doesn’t have either of these things in then it’s not been a good day. Probably a workout in there somewhere and a lot of stuffing my face with food and that’s pretty much me at the moment. Hopefully we can get back to more normality soon and have some good times with friends again!
How did you get into riding? 
My older brother mainly. I remember he got a Mountain bike and I was just completely obsessed with it. I used to have to constantly nag him to take me along one day to go ride. The first time we went, I remember having no brakes (basically just cooked the brake pads first run) and falling in a stream and was just hooked from then on. We’re super lucky to have a local riding scene on our doorstep at pedalabikeaway so we made some amazing friends that encouraged us out pretty much every weekend and the rest is history. Wouldn’t change a thing!
What are your strengths? 
Hmmm. I’d say I’m quite a motivated person but whether people agree with that I’m not sure. I fully believe that if you’re not enjoying it then why bother, so I try and make sure everything I do I’m having fun doing it. Plus, I’m trying to always better myself. I believe that you can never stop learning as there’s always a way you can do something better.
What are your weaknesses? 
Definitely not a morning person plus a horrendous chef.
What are your plans for 2021? 
I’d just like the chance to race my bike again. I’ve been working hard the past year on anything that holds me back and feel I’ve made some good progress. I’m hoping this year I might get the chance to race a downhill World Cup again. I did a few in junior but I had no idea what was going on and was super unprepared. It’s been a goal of mine since day one, to ride down a hill against the best in the world with my nations jersey on. That would be huge for me! In the meantime, definitely some national races and some travelling in there for good measure. We’ve got some cool projects in the works this year so super excited for what we have in store.
Who or what inspires you? 
Definitely my friends and family. My parents work so hard to make sure we’re happy and I owe so much to them. My friends too, seeing them improve and succeed in whatever they’re doing makes me want to keep going.
What do you enjoy outside of biking? 
Difficult question this one! Bikes have been everything for me for so long that I can’t see myself doing anything but riding my bike. But just having good times with my mates having a beer or two or ten.
What's your favorite motto or saying? 
I have so many, it’s tricky to choose one. Although been saying “you win some, you lose some” a lot recently.
What's your Pet Peeve? 
What gets you stoked? 
Bikes! But in all seriousness, seeing improvement or doing something that pushes you. Got to push the comfort zone in order to improve.
Favorite food? 
Uhhh biscuits
Any weird routines or superstitions? 
Lucky pair of socks is a thing
Favorite non-bike website? 

All Team Members